APRA Music Award nominations honour finest songwriters

Matthew Colwell (aka 360)
Matthew Colwell (aka 360)

RAPPER and urban songwriter Matthew Colwell (aka 360) along with co-writer Kaelyn Behr are leading the 2013 Australasian Performing Right Association Music Awards tally with four nominations.

Over 90 songwriters have been named as nominees in six Work of the Year Award categories in the rock, pop, urban, blues and roots, country and dance genres.

Works of the Year Award recipients are determined by statistical analysis.

The nominees are a call-sheet of Australia's most talented writers.

They include APRA Music Awards newcomers such as Courtney Barnett, Georgi Kay, Vandalism & Ikid, Seth Sentry, Feenixpawl & Ivan Gough, The Rubens, Clairy Browne & The Bangin' Rackettes And Alpine.

They are nominated alongside established Australian songwriters including Mia Dyson, Beccy Cole, Troy Cassar-Daley, Ash Grunwald, Pat Davern & Phil Jamieson From Grinspoon, Guy Sebastian, Hilltop Hoods, Delta Goodrem, Evermore, Birds Of Tokyo, Lanie Lane, Sneaky Sound System, Catherine Britt, Mcalister Kemp, The Mcclymonts, The Potbelleez, Ash Grunwald and Chris Cheney From The Living End.

Other writers receiving multiple nominations include Guy Sebastian (3), Sia Furler (3) and Timomatic (3).

Tame Impala continue their streak of critical acclaim taking two nominations in the peer-voted Song of the Year category for their songs Elephant and Feels Like We Only Go Backwards from their lauded album Lonerism.

The two nominations make them the fifth songwriters in the history of the APRA Music Awards to receive more than one nomination in this category.

The 2013 APRA Music Awards will be hosted by Jonathan Biggins and Clare Bowditch and will feature special guests and live performances.

APRA's flagship event feature on MAX on Foxtel on Wednesday June 26.

To see all the nominees visit www.apra-amcos.com.au/2013APRAMusicAwards/index.html.

>>More Music News