Maroons line-up for game 2 announced, with a surprise

The Queensland Rugby League last night announced a 22-man XXXX Maroons squad for Game 2 of the Holden State of Origin series to be played at Sydney's ANZ Stadium on June 18.

"We're taking a little bit of a different tack because of the current injury situation," QRL Chairman Peter Betros explained.

"We normally announce 19 players but tonight because of the uncertainty over several players we're going to announce 22 players. As the week goes on and the injury situation becomes clearer, Mal (Meninga) will finalise the team and get it down to the required number."

After missing Game 1 with a calf injury, Broncos forward Sam Thaiday is back in the fold, while Jacob Lillyman and Willie Tonga return to Camp Maroon.

QAS Emerging Origin Squad member Anthony Milford and Broncos halfback Ben Hunt are the newcomers to the senior Maroons squad. 

QueenslandNew South Wales
Darius BoydJarryd Hayne
Will ChambersWill Hopoate
Daly Cherry-EvansJosh Dugan
Matt GillettMichael Jennings
Aidan GuerraDaniel Tupou
Justin HodgesJosh Reynolds
Ben HuntTrent Hodkinson
Greg InglisPaul Gallen
Jacob LillymanRobbie Farah
Chris McQueenAaron Woods
Anthony MilfordRyan Hoffman
Nate MylesBeau Scott
Josh PapaliiGreg Bird
Corey ParkerJames Tamou
Matt ScottAnthony Watmough
Billy SlaterTrent Merrin
Cameron SmithLuke Lewis
Brent Tate
Ben Te'o
Sam Thaiday
Johnathan Thurston
Willie Tonga