Former Treasurer Tim Nicholls has vowed to give Lawrence Springborg a senior position if he wins the leadership battle on Friday
Former Treasurer Tim Nicholls has vowed to give Lawrence Springborg a senior position if he wins the leadership battle on Friday Luka Kauzlaric

Tim Nicholls enters fray with Tim Mander for LNP top job

A NEW challenger has appeared in the battle to lead the Queensland LNP.

Former Treasurer Tim Nicholls has confirmed he would run for the leadership, saying there had been "numerous approaches by colleagues".

Current leader Lawrence Springborg was aware of his intentions, he said.

Mr Nicholls, who was the LNP salesman for its asset sales agenda while in government, said his intention to lead the party did not reflect on the work of Mr Springborg.

I will be offering my colleagues the values of hard work, experience, proven parliamentary and media performance, policy depth and the ability to campaign throughout the state from a secure base," he said.

"I do want to place on record my respect for Lawrence. As the 'father' of the LNP he is in large part responsible for the party's success here in Queensland."

Mr Nicholls has also told the ABC that Mr Springborg would have a senior role in his team if he wins the leadership.

Nanango MP Deb Frecklington was Mr Nicholls' choice of deputy, "should she choose to do so".


EARLIER: Tim Mander to challenge Springborg for LNP leadership


State Member for housing and Public Works, Tim Mander. Photo: Valerie Horton / Fraser Coast Chronicle
Tim Mander is ready to fight for LNP leadership Valerie Horton


ONE of Queensland's newest MPs will challenge for the leadership of the LNP on Friday, saying people wanted to a 'fresh change' and new ideas.

 Liberal National Party MP Tim Mander resigned from the Queensland Opposition frontbench and will contest the party leadership.

The ABC reports current leader Lawrence Springborg remains confident of maintaining the leadership.

Former deputy premier Jeff Seeney said he had emailed his LNP colleagues to tell them he would move a motion at the meeting for leadership positions to be declared vacant, the ABC reported.

Mr Mander would not say whether he thought he had the numbers to win.

"Let's see what happens on Friday. I do know that there are many of my colleagues that do believe the same thing, that they want to change," he said.

While he only came to Parliament in 2012, Mr Mander said he had years of leadership experience in both the public and private sector.

"I don't think people are looking for professional politicians, what they're looking for is people who are authentic," he said.

Tim Nicholls is another possible leadership contender, but he has not yet commented.

The spill was precipitated by Opposition Leader Lawrence Springborg's decision on Wednesday morning to call a meeting of all parliamentarians for Friday at 11am to address speculation that has whirled through the media all week about his future.

It was followed at 2.35pm by an email from former Newman Government Deputy Leader Jeff Seeney saying he would move a spill of the leader and deputy leader positions.

Noosa MP Glen Elmes said the motion would first have to get up before it was seen who, if anyone, would nominate.

He said unusually for the situation phones had not been running hot canvassing support.

Mr Elmes said it was better for the matter to be brought to a head this week rather than on Monday in the party room the day before Parliament resumes.

Maroochydore MP Fiona Simpson and Member for Glass House Andrew Powell both made clear they would prefer the LNP got on with its job in Opposition following calls earlier in the week by Calounda MP Mark McArdle for MPs to park their egos.

"I support the leader and we should be focusing on what matters working hard for our regions,'' Ms Simpson said.

"We made a decision last year and we should get on with the business of being an alternative government."

Unrest in Queensland will do nothing to assist the federal Coalition ahead of the looming July national election for both the House of Representatives and Senate.